Emily Melillo_Imaging Portfolio

Title: Figure Drawings
Media: Conte on Newsprint or Toned Paper
Date: Various Throughout Semester


 

Title: Hair
Media: Acrylic on Paper
Date: January 31, 2017
Dimensions: 2′ x 20′
Statement: This was a piece to study performative art. Using Janine Antoni as an inspiration, I found a water-soluble black acrylic paint and filled a bucket with it. I rolled out a long sheet of paper, drowned my hair in the bucket of paint, and used the motion of my entire body to create this piece.


 

Title: Generations
Media: Photoshopped Digital Images
Date: February 9, 2017

Title: Eras
Media: Photoshopped Digital Images
Date: February 21, 2017


 

Title: Sprinkled
Media: Graphite and Acrylic on Paper
Date: March 28, 2017
Dimensions: 8.5 x 11, 18 x 24
Statement: The first image was created based on a descriptive narrative written by another student. Upon analyzing it, I wanted to created a separate piece that would combine not only the media and subjects of the first piece, but also the hybrid of the abstract acrylic donuts and the photo-realistic graphite dogs.


 

Tattoo

Title: My Mother’s Embrace
Media: Powdered Charcoal (ash)
Date: April 11, 2017
Duration: 1:22
Statement: Using ash as a medium symbolic of my grandmother’s recent passing and cremation, I covered my mother’s arms in it and had her embrace me from behind. The mark it left on my own body embodies the strength and power that my mother has always been to me.


 

Title: 90’s Cartoons Booth
Media: Acrylic Paint on Plywood or Cardboard
Date: April 20, 2017
Dimensions: Life Size
Statement: As a Booth Chair this past year, I led a team of over 70 individuals and helped create a Carnival Booth. A pertinent element in the Booth were the wall murals depicting various cartoon characters. These murals were hand-drawn and painted by me and my fellow organization members.


 

18492483_1453293564720849_1075969716_n

Title: Self Portrait
Media: Graphite on Paper
Date: May 2, 2017
Dimensions: 12 x 18
Statement: Quick sketch of myself from real life observation. Drawn while sitting in front of a mirror within 5 minutes to capture my key outer features. Precedent sketch for “True Self Portrait.”

18492935_1453433418040197_425575214_n

Title: True Self Portrait
Media: Graphite on Paper, Blood, Coffee, Prescription Bottle Labels, Snot, Tissue, Tape, Cough Drop, Hair, Tylenol
Date: May 9, 2017
Dimensions: 18 x 24
Statement: While drawing an originally intended clean self-portrait, my nose started bleeding due to being so tired, overworked, and stressed from the semester. The clean drawing was ruined by the blood droplets, but this gave me the opportunity to break free of my typical drawing style. Throughout the semester I was expected to create beautiful work no matter what it took, even if that meant not sleeping, getting sick and put on 3 different antibiotics, having mental breakdowns, and just feeling gross in general. Drawing has always been my outlet, and I utilized this piece to express how I truly felt on the inside. It may not be beautiful but it is honest.


 

Courtyard RenderStreet Render

Title: Environmental Charter School Renders
Media: Graphite on Paper, V-Ray Rendering for Rhino, Photoshop
Date: May 8, 2017
Dimensions: 42 x 30
Statement: These drawings were completed for Third Year Architecture Studio, but pertinent to Imaging Studio as this was the first time I utilized analog skills for an architectural project. Imaging inspired me to hand render my design and integrate a piece of the digitally modeled and produced render using Photoshop.

Leave a Reply

